A Day on the Rez

By: Jack Kapes

Woke up today around 6:30 for our final day of work. It still throws me off every morning waking up to tribal dance music. It’s not that I don’t like it because I do but it’s just a very different wake up call. I had cereal for breakfast and put on my boots and work pants. We traveled out to Jeremy Redcloud’s home to install his new outhouse. It was our group (group 1) and Kelly who spent the morning digging a 6-foot deep hole. It was a pretty cool experience and it took a lot of work. Right before we were about to move the outhouse over the hole, Jeremy came out and Ali and I talked with him for almost half an hour. His trailer was expected to arrive Friday and he had already planted about thirty trees around his property to act as a windbreaker in the future. He then offered us cookies and pop that he had brought out. I really appreciated it. We finished up the project and headed back to RE-MEMBER to finish up our last job. We were tasked with moving about 5,000 pounds of lumber from a trailer into the storage bay. It was pretty difficult and heavier than I thought it would have been but it only took about 1 hour and 15 minutes to move the nearly 600 pieces of lumber. That night was the last night of our trip so we had taco salad for dinner and played volleyball with the guys from the Jaywalker group. Then we had our final wrap up meeting in which we shared our thoughts about the experience we had. We shared what we had taken away from the experience and what we wanted to leave behind everyone. I played cards with the guys and kicked butt. I won the game of hearts and then we played spoons with about 13 people and I won that too. Maybe I’ll be able to include pictures from my win too. I went to bed tonight pretty late so hopefully I’ll be able to get a good night’s rest. Everything was great over the past week and I’m sad to leave but excited for what’s to come.

Jack 1

Winning spoons!

Jack 2

Winning hearts!

Leave a Reply

