To Mirror the Native Man

By: Nathan Hunnicutt

Native Man sit there in a tree

It has nothing to do with me.

I sit here nice and cool.

Mirroring what the Native Man do.

The Native Man sit nice and peaceful

Calling to the land of its people.

It howlers out, screams and shouts

What are you doing on me land, he say?

And I say back, “Nothing man, just want to sit and relax

In your land of the peaceful and the past.

So I say…

Native Man sit there in a tree

It has nothing to do with me.

I sit here nice and cool.

Mirroring what the Native Man do.

I sit there for a few,

Thinkin’ of what do.

I call out to mister Native Man,

“Hey you with a plan,

This is all our land.”

He shouts at me with all his might,

“Get out of me land, is has nothing to do with you.

Me family died here, me family alive here.

This is me land, you crazy white man!

Now you go tell your man with a plan,

To leave this land. For I shall stand,

Forever!

Leave a Reply

