What’s on TV?

By: Jack Kapes

While I sit at the counter eating my dinner after a long day, I can’t help but feel at home here in Costa Rica. Every night as I arrive home my mother sits watching the evening programs and by now I can tell you what she’s watching even before I get home. From 6:00 to 7:00 is the Mexican soap opera she and I like to watch, Mi Corazón es Tuyo. It’s pretty much about a “Typical” couple in Mexico City who have a rather large family with an obscene amount of inner family problems. To give you an idea of the much development that has happened over the past three weeks I’ve been here there has been one marriage, a pregnancy announcement flowed by a set of twins, and an engagement announcement and sometime this week the marriage episode. Time flies in the soap and never fails to entertain us. After comes the news which is quite interesting to watch because of the uncensored images they show. After that comes, Combate which airs from 8:00 to 9:00 in which two teams complete challenges in the pool and on land for money and at the end they do a wonderful dance for the audience at the end. We just finished watching Combate this evening and now we started watching an old cowboy western movie. I’m not going to go much into detail but my mother and I have gotten pretty emotionally invested in it because of the fighting over the pretty woman between a sheriff and a bandit. I just excuses myself to go to bed and my mother is still out there sitting on the couch with a handkerchief dabbing at her eyes.  It’s always a blast being able to get to know little schedules and miscellaneous things that make me feel that more at home here.

Leave a Reply

