When It Hits You

By: Andrew Novinski

You know the feeling you get when you finally realize something and it hits you like a tank? It puts you in this state of denial or disbelief. How can it be that we only have one week left in this incredible experience abroad?

The other night I was talking with my friends in their hotel room and we were reminiscing on past experiences over the last 4 months. I refused to think that the semester was almost at its end.  We were getting ready to go out to dinner and I heard someone say, “Hey, can I get a time extension”? Everyone laughed. A time extension was something we used during NOLS when we needed about 10 more minutes to get ready and packed up in the morning.

I woke up the next morning like it was any other day here in Costa Rica. We were loading the bus getting ready to leave the hotel and I sat down in my seat, when I heard someone mention how we only have one week left in our journey. It really hit me right then.  There have been times I have been ready to go home to my family, but the other part about the end is that everyone in the Gap group will start to live separate lives when we get back to campus. Sure we will stay in touch and have a class together, but it is still a weird thought not being with these people any longer. It’s a weird way to end. We are all in an airport and leave one by one to go back home. That’s it.

One of my favorite things to do is think of all of us in the airport on the first day and just looking at everyone going, “Alright spending the next 4 months with these guys.” I love looking back at each person and seeing how they have changed and how friendships were made and how they changed as the semester went on. It’s also important to notice how they have changed you, because I look back on it now and I can easily say I am not the same person that got off the plane in Denver.

Now I got one week left with some pretty amazing people and I am going to cherish each moment remaining. Home is close but I am not done here yet!

Leave a Reply

