Gap Pack

By: Marin Williams

Two days. I have exactly two more days in Costa Rica, two more days until my Gap Semester is over, and two more days until I have to leave the fourteen faces that have become some of the most significant people in my life. I have written about the weekly happenings, and my experiences throughout the semester, but not once have I expressed my appreciation for my fellow Gappers. Fifteen people were selected to go on life-changing experience. Going into the semester, we were briefed on where we were going, what we were doing, and how long each segment would take. What they did not or could not prepare us for was the impact we would have on each other’s lives. In August we were strangers, now we are a pack. We are a group of people that support each other, are honest with each other, and expect the best from each other every single day. We have experienced so much together and have worked together through so many trials and tribulations. The bond we have created is not one of forever-friendship, or roommate buddies. We are a pack, we will break away from each other and go our separate ways, we will find different places to go, but we always know that we once ran together for some of the craziest three months anyone has experienced. I have so much love and gratitude for the fourteen kids who decided to also embark on this adventure with me. I have only two days left with them, but our journey will never be finished.

Leave a Reply

