A Whirlwind of Experiences

By: Anthony Fraden

The first few weeks of the semester have been odd to adjust to, yet they’ve already been filled with a whirlwind of emotions and experiences. I’ve been able to explore more of campus now that I have a basic feel for where everything is, so I’ve gone on walks down to the intramural fields, I’ve been able to go off campus with friends and see movies or go to do some light shopping, and I’ve been able to go to the Maker Hub pretty frequently in my building and learn more about the software and the processes associated with 3D printing objects. I’m also enjoying all of my Spring Semester classes thus far, especially my Beginning Strings class where I’ve been able to learn the basics of playing the violin. It does feel odd to see how prevalent Greek life is throughout the campus, though. It seems that a lot of what the students here are focusing on are what frat is having a party when and whether or not they’ll get a bid on bid day. I went to the organization fair a few nights ago and I was able to find several clubs that are similar to my interests, but it seems like many of these organizations hold meetings on the same set of days, so I’m not sure how many clubs I’ll actually end up joining. Also I’ve found myself comparing the experiences I’ve had here on campus to the experiences I had while we were on the Gap Semester and while there are obvious differences even the similarities between the two feel different from one another. I felt more engaged to truly learn from the experiences I had during GAP, and would always try to derive meaning from each new piece of information I learned. But in this environment while I do try to maintain that mindset it just feels more difficult to do so when I’m surrounded by students who don’t approach learning and education in the same way that I do. It’s only been a few weeks though, so I believe that I may find this to change as we get further into the semester. But for now I think it’s best to keep an open mind and do well in each of the classes I’m taking this semester.

Leave a Reply

