Outdoor to the Indoor Classroom

By: Andrew Novinski

Transitioning from the Gap Semester has been not as bad as I thought it would be. I was actually really excited to get to campus after the christmas break. Winter term was a nice way to ease us into college life and gave me lots of time to myself to explore Elon. The first thing I did was go to the basketball gym and make some new friends. I now go whenever I have free time or just need some time to clear my head. My social life compared to high school has essentially sky-rocketed and I have found out that I can be a really fun guy to be around. I also thought I would see/ hangout with more people in our cohort, but I have found that it has been nice to get some space that way when I do see them I can catch up with them. I feel very comfortable that I can still easily count on anyone in our cohort for advice or even if it’s just getting lunch or dinner.

While it has been fun, it has been difficult at times. Not being familiar with campus was definitely one of the things I had to get used to asking help with. My roommates have been very welcoming and helpful in that regard so I am thankful for that. I think living in Danieley coming right back from Gap is the best way to do it because you are guaranteed to meet at least 7 new people.

As far as spring semester goes, it has been pretty busy. I have enjoyed the classes I am taking so far and the classroom setting itself has been pretty easy. I have no problem raising my hand in class for my opinion any more and I guess that is just a raise in my confidence. I am looking forward to getting more involved on campus and perhaps joining some clubs and maybe Catholic Campus Ministry. Also I think in the next week it is about to get super busy and I am interested to see how that goes and if I can fight some of my bad study habits from high school.

Leave a Reply

