Why Rush Into Things?

By: Jill Salvucci

When it comes to the social scene at Elon there is a very common misconception that many Elon students, and prospective students believe: If you are not in Greek Life then you will have no social life.

I am going to be honest, there was a time when I believed this to be true. Almost 70% of girls at Elon are part of a sorority.  I thought to myself, if there are 9 sororities and 70% of Elon girls are in Greek Life then there has to be a place for me.

I decided to go through sorority recruitment (aka rush). Now I am not a person to talk about myself, in fact I really dislike talking about myself. That should have been my first red flag because rush is all about talking about yourself! Girls in the sororities want to know all about you so they can see if you will fit well into their organization. There is absolutely nothing wrong with that, it just was not my cup of tea.

The second red flag for me was the third day. You could be invited back to a max of 6 houses and I was invited back to 6. Most girls would be beyond excited for this; however, the thought of having to talk about myself for 6 more hours was not appealing to me. But, I picked my head up, put on a smile, and made my way through the day.

It came down to preference day. I was invited back to 2 wonderful organizations. Although, something was missing for me, excitement. I wasn’t getting the feeling that everyone talked about when they walked into their favorite house. That is when I really took a second to think about what I was feeling. I had ignored my true feelings till that moment. I realized I was forcing myself to enjoy the week and act as though I was happy because I thought it was the only way for me to have a social life.

On bid day I withdrew myself out of rush. After I felt this sense of relief, I felt happier, I felt like I had made the best decision for me personally.

Dropping out of rush was a really great decision for me personally. Now I have time to do things I love like play soccer and volunteer. It also gave me the time to apply for a job on campus that I desperately wanted to have.

The lesson to be learned here is do what is best for you and only you. Do not let stereotypes get in the way of your happiness. Greek Life is not the only way to be social at Elon, do not believe that for a second if someone tries to tell you that. However, if that’s what you want to do it can be a great way to get involved if you find a frat or sorority that you love!

Elon has hundreds of organizations, sports, volunteer opportunities, etc. so get involved in something you are interested in, not what your friends are interested in, not what the general population is interested in, but you.

Leave a Reply

