The Best Part

By: Sammy Johnson

Today is my first day back after being evacuated. (I had a stomach bug but am feeling much better now!) I’ve realized what my favorite days are. I enjoy the longest days with the steep elevation gain when I travel the farthest with my group I feel accomplished.  The best part is knowing that going up the hundreds of feet is the hardest it is going to get for that day. All you have to do is make it over the ridge and your day will get easier. Making long hikes also means you are getting closer to home, your destination. The hardest part to code with is the physical drain the hiking does to my body. Flat terrain is okay but going up for 2000 feet kills me. I crossed my first river today. I thought it was very cold, but not too bad. The current wasn’t too strong. I’m very proud of myself.

Leave a Reply

