My Gap Family

By: Mary DiMartino

So far in all of my blogs, I’ve been writing about all of my experiences in Gap. However, I forgot to mention the people I’ve been spending the past month and a half with. These people help shape the experiences I have and ultimately make them 1000x better. I’m so thankful for my Gap family. Here they are:

Angelo – AKA Angie (I’m actually the only one that calls him that on a regular basis, but it’s okay). Angie’s from Tennessee, but more importantly he is my push up buddy! Throughout each day we do random sets of 25 push-ups, and by the time we go to bed, usually we manage to do over 100. He also lends me his Jesus Calling book that has super cool readings to put you in a good mood each morning. OH and we have this really cool handshake that was actually him and his friends in high school but now it’s ours. ***Angelo is by far the coolest person in the group and my favorite. Honestly, I probably would have dropped out if it weren’t for him. I am actually thinking about naming my kid after him. Woo!!! ***Angie wrote that but he made me leave it.

Alexa – AKA Lex (NOT Lexi) ❤ Where do I start? This girl is my rock. She is and always has been my support system in Gap, and I couldn’t be more thankful. Lex gives the best advice EVER. If you ever have a problem, go to her and after talking, your problems won’t seem as terrible as you thought they were. Lex also laughs a lot. And I mean A LOT. But that’s one of the things I love about her most. She adores corny pick-up lines, and while they aren’t always funny, I die laughing watching her laugh at them.

Brendan – AKA B. B’s really tall and is obsessed with spike ball. He has his own set of vocabulary that all of us think is super funny. Classic B lines: “Can I get a little nib-nib?” “I love it” “Look at this feaster” “Homie” “This is the squaaaad” “Faaacts my dude” “That’s what I’m saaaying” . I can’t think of any more at the moment, but you have to have a conversation with him to understand what I’m talking about. ALSO, the day before we left for NOLS, B wore a green shirt; this was when Lex realized that B is an exact replicate of Shaggy from Scooby Doo. Not so fun fact: B farts a lot.

Nate – AKA Dad. So, once upon a time, Gap went to Yellowstone. Nate was dressed like a Dad that day, the main indicator being his fanny pack. Ever since, I’ve called him Dad. I love him. (Even though he grounded me the other night :/ ) Nate is one of the most inspiring people you will ever meet. One of his good guy friends in the group is Neil. They have a cool show called Two Guys One Couch. Ya’ll should check it out!!!

Sammy – I absolutely adore Sammy. In all honesty I aspire to be her. She goes to bed early, wakes up early, and gets all of her essays & blogs done early in the week so she isn’t stressing Sunday night. She is so organized and on top of things all of the time. But, she’s also so care free and I love spending time with her. She’s great to have talks with and her twin sister Gabby is super cool!! Surprising fact: she listens to Hopsin and Young Thug.

Noah – Noah Zaiser is THE nicest, most well-mannered, polite person you will meet in your entire life. He is such a sweet heart. He’s also really funny – the funniest person in Gap in my opinion. AND he can grow an awesome beard, even though he refused to grow it back after we got back from NOLS.

Neil – AKA Uncle/Step-brother Neil. I would explain how Neil is both my uncle and step-brother, but in all honesty, I don’t really understand how. One time I gave Neil a piggy back ride which I’m extremely proud of because he is at least a foot taller than me and weighs close to double my weight. I think of Neil as a big teddy bear. Fun fact: he can grow a beard, but not a mustache. Neil is more of a beast at spike ball than Tommy (fact). He killed a grouse on the Wind River Range with a single rock. He acts like a tough guy but he’s actually a sweet heart and low key loves hugs & cuddles.

Cheyenne – AKA Step-mom. So Tommy & Neil call Cheyenne mom. Nate (Dad) and Cheyenne “got married” so now she’s my step mom! Cheyenne has a super cool, super cute southern accent that I absolutely love. She also has one of the strongest mentalities of the people I know. Part of that might be because she’s a beast at Crossfit.

Laura – I LOVE Laura’s laugh. Laura’s a little nugget – that’s the only way I can describe her. I really like her hair, and I’m pretty sure she’s the only one in the group that’s shorter than me (yay short people!!) Laura has a special place in my heart – on our first real hiking day of NOLS, it was Laura and I in a group with three other guys and one of our instructors (also a guy). Long story short, while the boys had no problem hiking 4.5 miles off trail that day, Laura and I died. Even though we struggled, we struggled together.

Tommy – Tommy seems like a typical frat guy but he’s much more than that. He’s actually incredibly sweet and cares about everyone in the group even though it might not always seem like it. He’s also a beast at spike ball – every other minute he’s diving through the air to hit the ball. In the words of Carol Smith, “He’s more than a bro.”

Emerson – AKA Eeeeemerson. Eeeemer loves rap music and is a Lions football fan. He’s one of the most selfless people I know and is always willing to help you out with anything. I know I personally wouldn’t have gotten through NOLS without this guy. He was always there to support me in any way I could and we had the best conversations around campfires.

Emma – AKA Em. She’s such a hard-worker. She is always going out of her way to help others in any way she can. Examples: helping B roll up his sleeping pad, doing the dishes with me when it wasn’t her night to do them, baking cookies/brownies for everyone, filling up everyone’s (and I mean everyone’s) water bottles on NOLS, letting me use her shampoo & conditioner, etc. She also is my work-out buddy; we do ab workouts every night and she tags along when Angie & I do our push-ups. She’s awesome.

Jules – Jules is very sarcastic and sassy and I love it. Her Facebook statuses are just her snarky comments about the day’s events, and they never fail to make me laugh. The first time we really bonded was on NOLS; we were in our tent one night, and we just talked about our boyfriends. Her boyfriend, G, is in the air force, and according to Lex he is a QT.

Ecoder – The one who makes this all possible. Ecoder, the coordinator of Gap, is simply wonderful. She does so much for all of us, and I’m so grateful to have such a loving person taking care of us. We love you Ecoder!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

