As I Remember

By: Cheyenne Wilson

chey-pic

As I walk through the halls of the MOC building nervous about how unpleasant it looks

I remember how many people may not have a roof over their head tonight, just in Mullens

As I am frustrated by not having cell service

I remember those who don’t have a cell phone, much less an IPhone

As I look at the clean room more than large enough for seven girls each with their own bed

I remember those that are living in a home the size of this room with 15 people packed inside

As I eat more food than I could need in a sitting, all of what I desire to have

I remember how many people will go without a meal tonight and again in the morning

As I look dismally, and a little freaked out at the shower with hot water and pressure

I remember how many people will go without a shower, not to mention the hot water

As I watch the little bit of dirt come from the shower for a few seconds

I remember the multitudes that have no access to clean water

As I lazily walk 20 feet down the hall to brush my teeth

I remember how many people don’t have access to any kind of dental care

As I am irritated with my computer for being slow

I remember how few people have access to a computer at all

As I stress about an upcoming assignment

I remember how many have dropped out of high school and how few continue to college

As I am hassled to take off my jacket that is a little too tight

I remember the people who have no jacket for the winter

As I think about how long I’ve been away from my family

I remember how many children will never see their parents again

As I consider all of the opportunities I would like to pursue in my future

I remember those who see a void filled by uncertainty and a coal mine as their future

As I sweep and mop and old school building

I remember the opportunities the building holds for the future

As I carry rocks to a bridge made by our hands

I remember the people who will be able to access the new trail we’ve built

As I am frustrated by trivial ‘problems’

I remember the mountains people face everyday

 

As I write this

I remember the wakeup call it has shown me, and hopefully you

As I write this

I am thankful for everything I have and everything I have taken for granted

Leave a Reply

