Communication

By: Tommy Nelson

This week we were given the chance to enjoy our first full week here in Spain.  While we had class all of last week we still had orientation and many other responsibilities.  I think that all of us are comfortable with our new families and really enjoy Spain.  Communication with locals has slowly started to become easier even though speaking is still very far off for me.  The hand gestures are becoming more understood and can be used anywhere.  I have become completely comfortable being the American tourist that will blankly stare at you if I have no idea what you said.  I feel like I do this a lot with my host family and they find it extremely funny.  We are usually able to communicate but when I have no clue they immediately break out the Google translate.  Living here without Google translate feels like it would be extremely difficult.

Leave a Reply

