Camino

By: Angelo Boone

The Camino de Santiago was a great end to my Gap semester because it provided a perfect opportunity to reflect on all the memories I have gained over the past three and a half months. The hiking got a little tough on the feet, but it was a good reminder of how difficult NOLS was at times. It is easy to forget all the things and little struggles that occurred over the course of the semester, so remembering some of those times are good. Brendan and I chatted a lot about how great Gap was for us and how blessed we are to be a part of such a great experience. This Gap experience has forced every person in this cohort to grow and change in ways that they may not even see, and it has been cool to watch that unfold first-hand. While hiking on day two I had a good talk with Rafa’s (our CIEE instructor) dad a.k.a “big papi.” He kind of resembles who I want to be at his age. He is 65 but filled with more life and energy than I could imagine. Heck I mean if he was able to hike the Camino with (and sometimes better than) a bunch of young kids than he must be doing something right! I asked him what his secret was and he said “traveling, being positive, eating good food, and talking to good people.” That sounds like a great way to live life to me and I hope that one day I will look back and be able to pass that advice down to someone else.

Leave a Reply

