Missing Home

By: Sammy Johnson

Being in a culture and environment completely different from yours at home really makes you think about what you appreciate at home. I miss being able to wake up every morning and watch English shows in the living room. I miss being able to easily have a conversation about my plans for the week. Most of all, I miss my family and boyfriend. I haven’t seen them in person for more than a few days in this entire 3-month stretch. It is weird, starting college and realizing you can’t see certain people everyday. I can easily transition into any given environment and be comfortable in the space I make myself to live in, except the only missing part is the companionship like that of with my family or boyfriend. The perk to spending 3 months with the same people is that you are bound to make a best friend. I’m glad I made mine. Being able to prosper in any environment is all about the relationships you have going into them. If I got one thing out of my gap semester, it is a unforgettable time with 13(ish) people.

 

Leave a Reply

